Congratulations Class of 2021

Congratulations to our Bachelor of Science of Nursing, Master of Science, Doctor of Nursing Practice and Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing Science graduates! Last Friday June 11, we celebrated over 260 graduates in a virtual ceremony.

“I am proud of our graduates who overcame obstacles and uncertainties, not to mention a pandemic. They took classes in-person and remotely and took clinical opportunities wherever they could be found.  In the best tradition of nursing, our Husky Nurses did what it took to get the job done. They persevered, excelled, and rose to every challenge.” said Executive Dean Azita Emami.

This year’s keynote speaker was Elizabeth Iro, the World Health Organization’s Chief Nursing Officer (CNO).

Learn more about some of our graduates here

We also recognized and congratulated our teaching and student honorees:


Johanna Hulick

Rheba de Tornyay Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award: Johanna Hulick 

Awarded for having a clear and engaging teaching style, professionalism and personal contributions.

Her students report that Johanna consistently goes the extra mile to offer students “field trips” and extra participatory experiences relevant to their programs of study.


Sandra Eyres Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award: Dr. Yingxuan Law

The awardee has a clear and engaging teaching style, professionalism and personal contributions.

Students report that her classes are well organized, expertly paced, and up-to-date, with case examples from the latest research and clinical guidelines.


Rebecca O’Connor

Excellence in Promoting Diversity through Teaching Award: Dr. Rebecca O’Connor

Recognizing subject matter knowledge, a commitment to diversity, respect for all, values students, and develops a flexible and inclusive teaching style.

She consistently draws attention to and focuses critical discussion on issues of culture, ethnicity, race, and gender diversity. 


Keondra Rustan

Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award: Dr. Keondra Rustan

For the quality of student Interactions and the teaching approach.

Students cited her excellence in building and delivering clinical simulations in the School’s Center for Excellence in Nursing Education.

Kerryn Reding

Award for Research Mentorship: Dr. Kerryn Reding

For contributions made to the experience of conducting research in nursing science and practice-based inquiry.

Students who have worked with Dr. Reding report that she is always willing to brainstorm potential research projects and goals to fit their aspirations, while challenging them to stretch and aim higher in order to reach their full capabilities.


DAISY Faculty Award: Johanna Hulick

The DAISY Award was established to celebrate the extraordinary compassion nurses provide to their patients and families every day. The award honors great clinical skill and leadership, as well as strong patient care and compassion.

Johanna sees the need to connect the personal and professional needs of students with the purely academic classroom work.


Vanessa Nguyen

Undergraduate Nursing Achievement Award: Vanessa Nguyen and Jordan Chappell 

For contributions to the community, leadership and exceptional care for others.


Jayte Boehler

Master of Science Outstanding Student Award: Jayte Boehler

For the application of theory to practice, creativity, scholarship, professional potential, leadership and contributions to the community.



Liam Malpass

Doctor of Nursing Practice Outstanding Student Award: Liam Malpass 

For leadership, clinical competency and outstanding contributions to the School of Nursing.


Dissertation Award in Nursing Science: Han Su

For research contribution, creativity, and scientific significance of the research.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Letitia Salazar Monk

The award criteria include demonstrating teaching effectiveness, innovative ideas and contribution to courses, initiative in problem solving around class issues or concerns, and strong communication with students and faculty.