

# BACKGROUND

The UW School of Nursing is proud to honor our community's outstanding nurses and nursing leaders. Our Nurses of Influence Awards affirm the strong bonds between the UW School of Nursing and our community partners and acknowledges the many ways the profession of nursing improves health and touches lives. You can view our 2023 Nurses of Influence Awardees by visiting this page, or view all past awardees here.

## AWARD CATEGORIES

- Distinguished Alumni Award
   Recognizes a UW School of Nursing alum whose career in nursing exemplifies excellence in clinical practice, leadership in professional organizations, outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the community.
   Only UW School of Nursing graduates are eligible for the Distinguished Alumni Award.
- Distinguished Researcher Award
  Recognizes an individual whose research, professional
  achievements and cumulative contributions have
  brought personal distinction, enhanced the profession,
  improved the welfare of the general public and brought
  honor and prestige to his or her field.

Distinguished Practitioner Award Recognizes a nurse who demonstrates excellence in

Recognizes a nurse who demonstrates excellence in nursing care, serves as an advocate for patients, families, and/or communities, makes a recognizable difference through his or her practice and embodies the essence of the nursing profession.

- Distinguished Diversity Advocate Award Recognizes a nurse who advocates for the needs of underrepresented populations and communities; encourages dialogue and reflection regarding societal power imbalances; and demonstrates leadership in promoting diversity in nursing.
- Distinguished Advocate, Administrator, Leader Recognizes an individual who demonstrates excellence in nursing advocacy, patient advocacy, administration and leadership; serves as a champion for the nursing profession, actively seeks to improve nursing management, administration and goes above and beyond across the nursing practice continuum.
- Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is a prestigious award selected by the UW School of Nursing's Executive Dean. The recipient of this award demonstrates remarkable leadership and commitment to the nursing field and has proven their passion and devotion throughout their life and career.

SCHOOL OF NURSING UNIVERSITY of WASHINGTON

# Past Nurses of Influence Awardees

#### DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARD

- 2004 Rebecca Kang 2005 Kathleen Dorcv 2006 Deborah Martin
- 2007 Mary Salazar 2008 Judith Huntington
- 2009 Cvnthia Hecker Vickie Ybarra 2010
- 2011 Donna Gerity
- 2012 Mady Murrey
- 2013 Sallie Davis Kirsch 2014 Ruth Fletcher Benfield
- 2014 Carolyn Chandler Main
- 2016 Louise Kaplan

2017

- 2018 Karalee Hatch Sutterlin &
  - Pamela Cipriano

Sam Miller

- 2019 Elizabeth Bridges
- 2020 Jose A. Pares-Avila
- 2021 Joycelyn Thomas
- 2022 Deanna Iwamoto
- 2023 Jesus Revna

## DISTINGUISHED PRACTITIONER **AWARD**

- 2009 Leslie Elder
- 2010 Kiki Van Zandt
- 2011 **Emily Butler**
- 2012 Charles Moody
- 2013 Laurie Soine
- 2014 Randy Eveland
- 2015 Pamela Stitzlein Davies
- 2016 Shannon Fitzgerald
- 2017 Jean Blue
- 2018 Sarah Rawlins
- 2019 Sarah Devine
- 2020 Patricia Blissitt
- 2021 Kristen Childress
- 2022 Frankie Manning
- 2023 Carla Jolley

#### LIFFTIME ACHIEVEMENT AWAR

2012 Margaret Hollinger 2018 Doris Carnevali 2021 Rep. Eileen Cody

## DISTINGUISHED ADVOCATE, ADMINISTRATOR, LEADER AWARD

- 2016 Saibo Tunkara
- 2017 Jaynce Kauzloric
- 2018 Barbara Trehern
- 2019 Sofia Aragon
- 2020 Katie Johnson & Lois Schipper
- 2021 Anne Hirsch & Sue Birch
- 2022 Louise Peterson
- 2023 Samara Hoag

#### DISTINGUISHED RESEARCHER AWARD

- 2004 Elaine Larson
- 2005 Karen Schepp
- 2006 Kathryn Lee
- 2007 **Elaine Thompson**
- 2008 Donna Berry
- 2009 Carol Landis
- 2010 Pamela Mitchell
- 2011 Marylin Dodd
- 2012 Cynthia Dougherty
- 2013 Frances Marcus Lewis
- 2014 Lynn Reinke
- 2015 Karen Thomas
- 2016 Brenda Zierler
- 2017 Margaret Wallhagen
- 2018 Betty Bekemeier
- 2019
- Teresa Ward 2020 Debra Ridling
- 2021 Mayumi Willgerodt
- Frances Marcus Lewis 2022
- 2023 Margaret Heitkemper

## STRICKLAND DISTINGUISHED DIVERSITY ADVOCATE AWARD

D

- 2013 Victoria Fletcher
- 2014 SON Diversity Awareness Group
- 2015 Carolyn June Strickland
- 2016 Eleanor Marsh
- 2017 Ekene "Kennie" Amaefule
- 2018 Caroline Chow
- 2019 **Enedina Dumas**
- 2020 Frankie Manning
- 2021 Keondra Rustan
- 2022 Butch de Castro
- 2023 Muriel G. Softli