Sigma Theta Tau will induct two faculty members into 2018 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Sigma Theta Tau will induct two faculty members into 2018 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Dr. Ardith Doorenbos

Since 2010, Sigma Theta Tau has been inducting venerated nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national and/or international recognition for their work; and whose research has impacted the profession and the people it serves.

“What an amazing recognition and well deserved award for Dr. Doorenbos and Dr. Thompson,” said Dr. Azita Emami, the Robert G. and Jean A. Reid Dean of the UW School of Nursing. “Their research and expertise is invaluable to our school and field of nursing.”

Doorenbos’ research is centered on palliative care, pain and symptom management. Her research has identified effective symptom management techniques that are deployable, scalable, and repeatable. Her work is being replicated regularly through the telepain system.

“I am thrilled and honored to be accepted in to the international nurse researcher hall of fame. Being inducted is an opportunity to renew ties with other nurse researchers and to meet other outstanding nurses,” Doorenbos said. “This award will also provide important support to build more global sharing, joint activities, and significant investigative studies.”

Dr. Hilaire Thompson

Thompson’s research has focused on both preventing and improving outcomes from traumatic brain injury (TBI), with a particular emphasis on older adults. She examines strategies for injury prevention and promotion of functional recovery should a traumatic injury should occur. Her research has identified biological changes that occur post-injury unique to older adults that are associated with poorer outcomes, identifying possible targets for intervention. She has also investigated aspects of care provision that influence outcome following a TBI for older adults, revealing areas for service delivery improvement.

“I am honored and humbled to join such an illustrious group of nurse scientists, many of whom have been (and remain) mentors throughout my career,” Thompson said. “I am thankful to the University of Washington and its School of Nursing for cultivating an environment where research and innovation can flourish.”

Doorenbos and Thompson will join fellow UW SON Faculty Cynthia Dougherty, Margaret Heitkemper, Pamela Mitchell, Nancy Woods and the late Dr. Kathryn Barnard as inductees to the Sigma Theta Tau Hall of Fame.

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) will induct 20 nurse researchers into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame at Sigma’s 29th International Nursing Research Congress in Melbourne, Australia, 19-23 July 2018.

Sigma’s annual congress attracts nearly 1,000 nurse researchers, students, clinicians, and leaders, who learn from evidence-based research presentations. The theme for the 29th International Nursing Research Congress is Innovative Global Nursing Practice and Education Through Research and Evidence-Based Practice.

For more information – Reflections on Nursing Leadership