June awards and mentions

June awards and mentions


Josephine Ensign, Psychosocial and Community Health speaks about the homelessness crisis in Seattle in a KUOW interview.

Cynthia Price, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Informatics, will be an Associate Director for Research at the UW Osher Center for Integrative Medicine.  This newly funded Center, funded through a $5 million endowment from the Bernard Osher Foundation, will be the 7th Osher Center for Integrative Medicine, joining others at Harvard Medical School, the Karolinska Institute in Sweden, Northwestern University in Chicago, the University of CA San Francisco, Vanderbilt University, and the University of Miami. More information here.

Anita Souza, Psychosocial and Community Health Nursing, was just appointed to King County Health Care for the Homeless Network (HCHN) Governance.

Teresa Ward, Psychosocial and Community Health will be inducted as a fellow into the  American Academy of Nursing. 

Faculty retirements

We are grateful for our faculty members who have a strong dedication and commitment to the nursing field and to our students. We wish the following faculty members all the best in their future endeavors.

  • Patty Betrus
  • Shawn Elmore
  • Pam Mitchell
  • Daniel E. Montano
  • Karen Schepp
  • June Strickland

Staff retirement and departure

After 27 years of service, Laura Mason in Student Academic Services will retire. After 20 years of service, Carolyn Chow will be leaving the School of Nursing. Thank you for all your hard work, dedication and commitment to School of Nursing. Wishing you all the best in future endeavors.

Congratulations to faculty and student awardees who were recognized on Convocation on June 8.

Excellence in Teaching Award recipients are:

  • Rheba de Tornyay Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award: Gaylene Altman

The award criteria includes a clear and engaging teaching style, professionalism and personal contributions.

  • Sandra Eyres Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award: Diana Buchanan

The award criteria includes a clear and engaging teaching style, professionalism and personal contributions.

The award criteria includes subject matter knowledge, a commitment to diversity, respect for all, values students, and develops a flexible and inclusive teaching style.

The award criteria includes the quality of student Interactions and the teaching approach.

The DAISY Award was established to celebrate the extraordinary compassion nurses provide their patients and families every day. The award honors great clinical skill and leadership as well as strong patient care and compassion.

Outstanding Academic Achievement Student Award recipients are:

  •  Undergraduate Nursing Achievement Award: Jenae Cooper Franklin

The award criteria includes contributions to the community, leadership and exceptional care for others.

  • Master of Science Outstanding Student Award: Nikolay Titarenko

The award criteria includes the application of theory to practice, creativity, scholarship, professional potential, leadership and contributions to the community.

  • Doctor of Nursing Practice Outstanding Student Award: Bethany Jerabek, Chelsea Belle Miller

The award criteria includes leadership, clinical competency and outstanding contributions to the School of Nursing.

  • Dissertation Award in Nursing Science: Sunny Chieh Cheng

The award criteria includes research contribution, creativity and the scientific significance of the research.

The award criteria includes outstanding compassionate care provided to patients and families by nursing students when they are working in direct care.

  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Alexi Vasbinder
  • Preceptor Lifetime Achievement Award: Debby Ayars, MD