School of Nursing

June 6, 2018

Congratulations to School of Nursing faculty and students!

I am pleased to announce the 2018 University of Washington School of Nursing teaching and students awards.

Excellence in Teaching Award recipients are:

  • Rheba de Tornyay Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award: Gaylene Altman

The award criteria includes a clear and engaging teaching style,  professionalism and personal contributions.

Other nominees: Maggie Pinson

  • Sandra Eyres Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award: Diana Buchanan

The award criteria includes a clear and engaging teaching style, professionalism and personal contributions.

Other nominees: Elaine Walsh, Melanie Summerour, Liz Bridges

  • Excellence in Promoting Diversity through Teaching Award: Rebecca O’Connor

The award criteria includes subject matter knowledge, a commitment to diversity, respect for all, values students, and develops a flexible and inclusive teaching style.

  • Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award: Adeline Chu

The award criteria includes the quality of student Interactions and the teaching approach.

Other nominees: Susan Landis, Kathy Kroening, Youjeong Kang

  • DAISY faculty award: Monica Oxford

The DAISY Award was established to celebrate the extraordinary compassion nurses provide their patients and families every day. The award honors great clinical skill and leadership as well as strong patient care and compassion.

Other nominees: Elaine Walsh, Ardith Doorenbos, Hilaire Thompson

Outstanding Academic Achievement Student Award recipients are:

  • Undergraduate Nursing Achievement Award: Jenae Cooper Franklin

The award criteria includes contributions to the community, leadership and exceptional care for others.

Other nominees: Liesl Henthorn

  • Master of Science Outstanding Student Award: Nikolay Titarenko

The award criteria includes the application of theory to practice, creativity, scholarship, professional potential, leadership and contributions to the community.

  • Doctor of Nursing Practice Outstanding Student Award: Bethany Jerabek, Chelsea Belle Miller

The award criteria includes leadership, clinical competency and outstanding contributions to the School of Nursing.

Other nominees: Erica Soelling, Jonathan Medina

  • Dissertation Award in Nursing Science: Sunny Chieh Cheng

The award criteria includes research contribution, creativity and the scientific significance of the research.

Other nominees: Makayla Cordoza, Jonika Hash, Shih-Yin Lin

  • DAISY in Training Award: Rubee Dev

The award criteria includes outstanding compassionate care provided to patients and families by nursing students when they are working in direct care.

  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Alexi Vasbinder

Other nominees: Kelsey Hirsch, Rubee Dev 

  • Preceptor Lifetime Achievement Award: Debby Ayars, MD

Congratulations to these exceptional faculty members and students for their fantastic achievements! Awardees will be recognized at the UW School of Nursing Convocation on Friday, June 8.