Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Winners Named for School of Nursing Excellence in Teaching Awards

The winners of the 2011 School of Nursing Excellence in Teaching Awards have been selected!

Dr. Vicky Hertig, BNHS, will receive the Rheba de Tornyay Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award.

Dr. Gaylene Altman, BNHS, will receive the Sandra Eyres Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award.

Ms. Barbara Plovie, FCN, will receive the Excellence in Promoting Diversity through Teaching Award and Ms. Valerie Wegermann, PCH, will receive the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award.

Nominees for the awards included: Maggie Baker, Pat Blissit, Liz Bridges, Phyllis Christensen, George Demiris, Mary Eklund, Susan Flagler, Pam Jordan, Susan Landis, Kathleen Leach, Frances Lewis, Fiona Macpherson, Terri Simpson, Hilaire Thompson, Elaine Walsh, Diane Wisner.

The selection decision was made by a committee comprised of undergraduate and graduate student representatives: Pauline Lao-BSN, Lauren Pike-BSN, Gillian Ehrlich–DNP, Leah Bushman-MN, Gulrose Jiwani–PhD, assisted by Bette Horishige, Manager of International Programs. The decision was based on 1) the nature of the supportive comments and 2) the number of nominations for an individual faculty member.

The student representatives will present the awards at the Convocation on Friday, June 10, at 9:30 am in Meany Hall.