Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

WSNA honors UW School of Nursing alumnae and former faculty members

For Immediate Release
Date: March 28, 2012
By: Ashley Wiggin,, 206-221-2456

WSNA Hall of FameWSNA Hall of FameFour UW School of Nursing alumnae and former faculty members were honored by the WSNA as 2012 Hall of Fame Inductees on March 27. Two nursing alumnae, Helen Behan, BSN ’53, MN ’69 and Gretchen Schodde, BSN ’69, and former faculty members Frankie T. Manning (former clinical faculty member and assistant dean  for clinical practice) and Maureen Niland (who served on faculty in the school  in the 1970’s) were four of the six hall of fame inductees.

Each year, the Washington State Nurses Association honors the dedication and achievements of Washington state registered nurses who have made significant lifetime accomplishments in the nursing profession. Each inductee into the Washington State Nurses Association Hall of Fame has demonstrated excellence in the areas of patient care, leadership, education, public service, nurse advocacy, heroism, patient advocacy, or clinical practice, and for achievements that have value to nursing beyond the inductee's lifetime. In addition, each has demonstrated excellence that affected the health and/or social history of Washington State through sustained, lifelong contributions. Learn more here.