Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Dean Pamela Mitchell and Professor Cathryn Booth-LaForce named to Washington State Academy of Sciences


Date: August 1, 2012
Media Contact: Ashley Wiggin,, 206-221-2456

Pam Mitchell OfficePam Mitchell Office

The Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS) today announced the election of 35 new members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing scientific achievements, including two School of Nursing faculty members, Pamela Mitchell, The Robert G. and Jean A. Reid Dean (interim) and Professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems and Cathryn Booth-LaForce, the Charles and Gerda Spence Endowed Professor in Nursing in the department of Family and Child Nursing.

The new members will be inducted into the WSAS at the fifth annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle, WA on September 20.    Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 184.


Cathryn Booth-LaForceCathryn Booth-LaForce

The Washington State Academy of Sciences provides expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policy-making, and works to increase the role and visibility of science in the State of Washington. Additional information about the Academy and a full list of its members is available online at


Mitchell (Top) and Booth-LaForce.


The University of Washington School of Nursing is consistently a top-rated nursing school, according to U.S. News & World Report. Ranked No. 3 in research funding from the National Institutes of Health, the UW School of Nursing is a national and international leader in improving the health and well-being of individuals, families and communities. The school addresses society’s most pressing challenges in health care through innovative teaching, award winning research and community service. For more information, visit