Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Nurses Recognition Banquet Award Winners

Nurses Recognition Banquet Award Winners

Nurses Recognition BanquetNurses Recognition BanquetEach May during National Nurses Week, the UW School of Nursing hosts its Nurses Recognition Banquet to honor outstanding nurses and nursing leaders. This celebration, which debuted in 1980, acknowledges the many ways the profession of nursing improves health and touches lives. Each year, the school presents four awards.

The Distinguished Alumni Award, which recognizes a UW School of Nursing alumna or alumnus whose career in nursing exemplifies excellence in clinical practice, leadership in professional organizations, outstanding accomplishments and contributions to the community.

The Distinguished Research Award, which recognizes a nurse researcher whose professional achievements and cumulative contributions have brought personal distinction, enhanced the profession, improved the welfare of the general public and brought honor and prestige to his or her field.  

The Humanitarian Award (Changed to the Distinguished Practitioner Award in 2009), which honors a nurse whose dedicated work and exemplary service have benefited society and the practice of nursing. Any nurse who has demonstrated service above and beyond expectations is eligible for the Humanitarian Award.  

The Outstanding Volunteer Award, which acknowledges a volunteer who embodies the ideals of the UW School of Nursing and whose leadership, dedication and contributions reflect an ongoing commitment to serve others through his or her vision and support of the school. In 2011, the Outstanding Volunteer Award was was discontinued and now the school awards the Peter Dyer Heart of Nursing award to an individual or group who has demonstrated a strong committment to the nursing community.

Distinguished Alumni Award

2013: Sallie Davis Kirsch, MN '76. PhD '00, RN-BC, Chief of Quality and Practice, Ambulatory Services, Seattle Children's Hospital
2012: Mady Murrey, RN, BSN '81, MN '94, Vice President & Administrator, Mary Bridge Children’s Hospital and Health Center
2011: Donna L. Gerity, RN, CCDS, CEPS, MN '92, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Swedish Medical Group
2010: D. Kiko Van Zandt, RN, CRRN, BSN '79, Rehabilitation Nurse Clinician, Seattle Children’s Hospital
2009: Cindy Hecker, RN, BSN '80, Chief nursing officer/ senior associate for patient care operations, Harborview Medical Center
2008: Judith Huntington, BSN '68, MN '85, Executive Director, Washington State Nurses Association
2007: Mary Salazar, BSN '82, MN '86, EdD, FAAN, University of Washington Mary Salazar, professor in the UW School of Nursing's Department of Psychosocial and Community Health
2006: Deborah Martin, MN '76, RN, FSHEA, Infection Control and Prevention Analysts Inc.
2005: Kathleen Shannon Dorcy, MN '91, RN, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
2004: Rebecca Kang, RN, MN' 74, PhD '85, University of Washington

Distinguished Researcher Award

2013: Frances Marcus Lewis, RN, MN, PhD, FAAN, UW Medical Center Endowed Professor in Nursing Leadership, UW School of Nursing
2012: Cindy Dougherty, PhD '90, ARNP, FAHA, FAAN, Professor, University of Washington School of Nursing
2011: Marylin J. Dodd, RN, PhD, FAAN, BSN '71, MN '73, Professor Emerita, Physiological Nursing, Director, Center for Symptom Management, University of California San Francisco
2010: Pamela H. Mitchell, PhD, FAHA, FAAN, BSN '62, Professor, Department of Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, UW School of Nursing
2009: Carol Landis, DNSc, RN, FAAN, Professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, UW School of Nursing
2008: Professor Donna L. Berry, BSN, MSN, PhD ’92 Myrene C. McAninch Term Professor, UW School of Nursing
2007: Elaine Adams Thompson, BSN '70, MN '72, PhD '90, RN, University of Washington
2006: Kathryn Lee, MN '77, PhD '86, RN, FAAN, University of California, San Francisco
2005: Karen Schepp, MN '67, PhD, University of Washington
2004: Elaine Larson, PhD, RN, CIC, FAAN, Columbia University

Humanitarian/ Distinguished Practitioner Award

2013: Laurie Soine, RN, ARNP, MN '91, PhD '09, Nurse Practitioner, Nuclear Cardiology, UW Medical Center
2012: Charles Moody, BSN '97, RN, JD, University of Washington Medical CenterNRB Award winners 2011NRB Award winners 2011
2011: Emily J. Butler, ARNP, FNP, MN '01, Nurse Practitioner, Seattle University Student Health Center
2010: Vickie D. Ybarra, RN, MPH, BSN '89, Director of Planning and Development, Yakima Valley Farm Workers Clinic
2009: Leslie Elder, RN, BSN '91, Pulmonary nurse clinician, Seattle Children’s
2008: Lisa Black, BSN '93, Pediatric Nurse, Providence Everett Medical Center
2007: Meg Hatlen, MN '96, RN, Renton Public Health Center
2006: Gretchen Schodde, BSN '68, MN '75, ARNP, Harmony Hill Retreat Center
2005: Connie Anderson, BSN '73, RN, MBA, Northwest Kidney Centers
2004: Ekene Amaefule, MN '02, RN, Veterans Administration Puget Sound Health Care Systems Ekene

Outstanding Volunteer Award

2009: Rheba de Tornyay, EdD, FAAN, Dean emeritus and Advisory Board member, UW School of Nursing
2008: Ellery Cramer, Campaign Advisory Board member, UW School of Nursing
2007: Betty McCurdy, BSN '49, School of Nursing Campaign Advisory Board
2006: Jean '47 and Bob Reid '43, '48, honorary co-chairs of the Campaign Advisory Board
2005: Eli and Rebecca Almo, co-chairs, School of Nursing Campaign Advisory Board
2004: Sandra Dyer, BSN '59, Community Leader

Other awards (selected by SoN leadership)

Peter Dyer Heart of Nursing Award

2013: Joanne '77 and Bruce Montgomery, School of Nursing donors, advocates and friends
2012: Eli and Rebecca Almo, co-chairs, School of Nursing Advisory Board
2011: Jean '47 and Bob Reid '43, '48, (posthumously), School of Nursing Advisory Board

Lifetime Achievement Award

2012: Margaret Hollinger, '50 BSN, Lt. Col (ret.), US Army Nurse Corps