Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

American Academy of Nursing inductees include three UW School of Nursing Faculty and four alumna

The American Academy of Nursing has announced its 2011 Fellows. Included in the 142 new members are three UW school of Nursing Faculty members: Betty Bekemeier, Cindy Dougherty and Brenda Zierler. Also included in the inductees is SoN alumna Lori Loan, an affiliate faculty member in BNHS who now works for the Madigan Hospital. The three inductees were honored at the AAN’s annual meeting in October, 2011 in Washington, DC. Three other school of nursing alumna were also inducted, Karen D'Apolito, PhD, RN of Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, Dena Hassouneh, PhD, ANP, PMHNP of Oregon Health and Science University School of Nursing and Roberta S. Rehm, PhD, RN of University of California San Francisco.

Betty Bekemeier, PhD, MPH, RN, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychosocial and Community Health Nursing. She is viewed as a national leader in public systems research as it pertains to how the delivery of services by local public health departments impacts health and health disparities. Her research with state and local health departments has promoted innovation in public health systems research to improve health outcomes. As Deputy Director of the RWJF-funded National Turning Point Initiative, Dr. Bekemeier actively assisted many state public health leaders in strengthening their public health systems state-wide through complex assessment, planning and partnerships. Today, 12 states and their local public health practice-based research partners have formally partnered with Dr. Bekemeier to examine how to better meet the needs of their communities.

Cynthia Dougherty, ARNP, PhD, is a Professor in the Department of Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems. Through her intervention and translational research, Dr. Dougherty has contributed to the body of knowledge on survival after sudden cardiac arrest and living successfully with an implantable cardioverter defibrillator (ICD). Dr. Dougherty is a pioneer and remains one of a handful of nurse scientist experts in promoting health for patients and families in the context of implantable cardioverter defibrillators.  The national recognition for her research program is reflected in her reputation as an authority in the areas of sudden cardiac arrest, post-ICD implantation, and the effects of cardiac disease on partners with this work referenced by many in the field.

Lori Loan, PhD ‘00, RNC, MS ‘92, and affiliate faculty in Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems. Dr. Loan is also Chief of Nursing Research Services at Madigan Army Medical Center in Tacoma. She has been actively engaged in the school of nursing and the nursing community for several years.

Brenda Zierler, PhD, RN, RVT, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems. Dr. Zierler’s work in promoting patient safety and quality through research, interprofessional education, national leadership in nursing safety curriculum development and in translating research findings into policy and practice are among her many contributions to the field of nursing. Recently, her research efforts have led to the development of a nationally recognized venous thromboembolism (VTE) safety toolkit to be incorporated in a commercial training program focused on VTE prevention. Dr. Zierler is Co-Director of the Clinical Informatics and Patient Centered Technologies masters program. She currently leads a HRSA- training grant focusing on faculty development in the use of technology.  Dr. Zierler is a fellow in the RWJ Nurse Executive Program (2008 cohort).