Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Office 365 Storage

UW SkyDrive Pro

This is a service that is offered by UWIT, find out all about it here.  SkyDrive Pro offers 25 GB of personal cloud-based storage that can be used to share files and/or collaborate with others.  An individual SkyDrive is tied to the UW NetID.  Permissions for other users are fairly rudimentary (Edit, View).

SharePoint Site Collections

Another service that is assocated with Office 365 is the personal SharePoint Site Collections feature, previously called "My Sites".  This is also a HIPAA compliant storage option and it differs from SkyDrive Pro in several ways.  UW has 5TB of storage capacity assigned across ALL Site Collections – storage may appear limited, but you would be surprised how far 5TB can stretch.  Below is some guidance on how to get up and running with Site Collections.

What is a SharePoint Online Site Collection?

A Microsoft SharePoint Online site collection is a tiered set of sites that you can manage individually or as a group. The sites share administration settings, navigation, permissions, and other features. Each site collection contains a single top-level site and any number of subsites below it. A subsite can inherit permissions and navigation from its parent site, or these elements can be specified and managed separately.

How can I create a site collection?

A site collection can be created by logging into the Office 365 environment with your full UW NetID (<uwnetid>@uw.edu).  Follow the instructions below to create a new site collection:

  • Navigate to http://office365.com.
  • Click ‘Sign in’ at the top right of the screen.
  • At the sign in box, enter your full UW NetID, e.g. jonnych@uw.edu and click ‘Next’.  You will be redirected to the UW NetID weblogin page.
  • Enter your UW NetID and password then click ‘Log in’.  You will be presented with your UW SkyDrive page.  SkyDrive can be used for your personal storage needs – up to 25GB of HIPAA-compliant, cloud storage.
  • Click the cog icon at the top right of the screen, and click ‘Site settings’.
  • Under the Site Administration section, click ‘Sites and Workspaces’.
  • Click the ‘Create’ button  - , to load the ‘New SharePoint Site’ page.
  • Enter a title and description.
  • In the Web Site Address URL box, enter a name that relates to the content that you want the site to maintain – for example: cindydgrants.
  • In the ‘Select a template’ section, choose ‘Team Site’.
  • In the Permissions section, choose ‘Use same permissions as parent site’.  Permissions for individuals can be set later and separately from the site creation process.
  • Click Create – other options can be configured later and separately according to how you want the site to look and navigate.
  • You are done.  The new site collection homepage will load with the default look and feel.

Site creation thoughts and ideas.

Users can create a lot of site collections, but please try and limit yours to one since there is an overall limit to the number of SharePoint site collections the UW is allowed to create in the UW Office 365 tenant.

Similar to SkyDrive, site collections created following the instructions contained herein are tied to the user that created them.  If the user separates from the UW and loses their NetID then the site collections associated with them will eventually get deleted – arrangements will have to be made to transfer the data to another storage location.

An advantage of Site Collections over SkyDrive is that site collections are much more configurable and flexible – they can be themed, the user can use lists and apps, and more.  Perhaps most important however is that a highly granular set of permissions can be applied – permissions with much more flexibility than can be applied to SkyDrive.

Setting up your site – the basics

When you first set up your site, you will see a ‘Get started with your site’ toolbar.  This can be removed, if you like, by clicking ‘REMOVE THIS’.  The bar cannot be re-added so you may want to make some changes to your site’s setup before you do.  All of the settings, and more, from the ‘Get started…’ bar can also be access from the site setting screen -

Setting overall site permissions – sharing your site

In a brand new site, every UW internal user will have Read permissions but only the site creator will have full administrative permissions.  The UW internal user permissions is inherited, but this can be changed.  Setting permissions at the Site Collection level will flow down to all content held within, including document libraries – document libraries can, however, be configured separately, if needed.

To set permissions for a specific set of users:

  • Navigate to the site you want to modify.
  • Click on the Site settings button -  and click Site Settings
  • In the User and Permissions settings section, click ‘Site permissions’.
  • Click the ‘Stop inheriting permissions’ button to allow the setting of unique permissions on the site.  Review the information dialog that pops up, and click OK.
  • Click ‘Everyone except external users’.
  • Click ‘Delete User from Site Collection’.  At this point, you may be presented with a small list of users in your site collection, your user may be the only one in the list.
  • Navigate back to the Site Permissions screen by following the instructions above, if necessary.
  • Click on ‘Grant permissions’.
  • Enter the names of the NetIDs of the users you would like to share your site with.  The names should auto-complete.
  • Click on ‘Show Options’ if you would like to turn off email notification or set a different level of permissions other than ‘Contribute’*.
    *Contribute is sufficient for users to be able to collaborate on content with others.  You may want to add one or two users ‘Full Control’ for administrative redundancy.
  • Click ‘Share’.

The sharing exercise may need to be repeated several times if there are varying permissions to be applied.

Creating additional document libraries

Each Site Collection gets created with a single document libraries called ‘Documents’.  This can be left as-is, or it can be renamed if desired.  To create an additional Document Library, which can have its own permissions:

  • Navigate to the home page of your site collection.
  • Click the settings button -  - and click Add an App.
  • Locate and click the Document Library app.
  • Enter a name for the document library and click ‘Create’.
  • You will see the new document library listed in the left under Recent.  You can make the document library a permanent fixture in the left navigation (Quick launch) by modifying the library settings.

Setting permissions on a document library.

All of the settings for any document libraries created can be access by navigating to the document library you want to work with, clicking the ‘Library’ menu at the top left of the screen, then clicking ‘Library Settings’.  By default, permissions for any new document library will get inherited from the parent Site Collection.

To set permissions on a document library:

  • Navigate to the document library to be configured.
  • Click the ‘Library’ menu.
  • Click ‘Library Settings’.
  • Under ‘Permissions and Management’ click ‘Permissions for this document library’.
  • Click ‘Stop inheriting permissions’ and click OK to acknowledge the popup.  Grant Permissions will then become available as an option in the menu bar.
  • Click on ‘Grant permissions’.
  • Enter the names of the NetIDs of the users you would like to share your site with.  The names should auto-complete.
  • Click on ‘Show Options’ if you would like to turn off email notification or set a different level of permissions other than ‘Contribute’*.
    *Contribute is sufficient for users to be able to collaborate on content with others.  You may want to add one or two users ‘Full Control’ for administrative redundancy.
  • Click ‘Share’.

Set Document versioning

By default, document libraries in Site Collections do not maintain versions, this needs to be configured manually.  To configure versioning:

  • Navigate to the site you want to modify.
  • Click on the Site settings button -  and click Site Settings.
  • In the General Settings section, click ‘Versioning settings’.
  • Configure the versioning settings per team preference and business need.
  • Click OK.